About CoA-OMP

The Commission on Accreditation of Ophthalmic Medical Programs (CoA-OMP) is sponsored by the following collaborating organizations:

  • Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology

    Representing the interests of ophthalmology in allied health.
  • Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology

    Representing the interests of the ophthalmic allied health profession.
  • Consortium of Ophthalmic Training Programs

    Representing the interests of educators of ophthalmic allied health professionals.

CoA-OMP accredits four levels of training programs for the ophthalmic medical technician:

  • Ophthalmic Non-Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program (Intermediate Level)
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program (Advanced Level)

CoA-OMP is vested with the responsibility and authority to evaluate programs that have requested accreditation services. CoA-OMP's principal means of program evaluation consists of analyzing Self-Study Reports, sending representative teams to conduct site visits of programs, and deliberating at committee meetings.

For consideration of accreditation matters, directors of CoA-OMP express independent judgments and do not serve as instructed representatives of their sponsors.

Statement of Non-Discrimination

Members of CoA-OMP, consultants, and members of site visit teams are selected without regard to age, sex, race, color, national origin, disability, religion, sexual orientation, or marital status.