Frequently Asked Questions

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a process of voluntary, non-government self-regulation that recognizes educational institutions and/or programs that have been found to meet or exceed established standards of quality.

Specialized and Professional Accreditation: What Should I Know?

What types of accreditations are there?

There are two types of accreditation:

  • Institutional - covers entire institutions
  • Programmatic or Specialized - covers a specific program within an institution

What type of accreditation does CoA-OMP offer?

Programmatic or Specialized - CoA-OMP accredits training programs for the ophthalmic medical technician.

What levels of ophthalmic medical training programs does CoA-OMP accredit?

There are four different levels of ophthalmic medical training programs that CoA-OMP accredits:

  • Ophthalmic Non-Clinical Assistant Program
  • Ophthalmic Clinical Assistant Program
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program

Is a program considered to be accredited if it has applied for accreditation or is in the accreditation process?


How long is initial accreditation granted for?

A maximum of 3 years

How long is continuing accreditation granted for?

A maximum of 5 years

When are the Annual Reports and Annual Fees due?

October 31 every year